MEGA Stats Update! – November 7 2012

Well … hasn’t it been a while since the last SeadogStuff Statistics Update?

I’d love to say it was because I had been sunning myself abroad, on a tropical beach somewhere, palm trees fluttering gently in the ocean breeze, a cocktail or two quenching my thirst in the 30 degree heat, etc, etc.

But alas, it wasn’t that. I have basically just been busy with work and family matters, so this evening is the first chance I have had to sit down and update the site. The reasons it was a big job and needed time and commitment was down to the size of the updates to do.

Firstly, I updated the SAFC first team playing stats and match by match stats  for the current season. This included adding the stats from the 1-0 win at Winterton Rangers. New signing Sam Denton scored his first goal for the club on his second appearance. Making his first appearance since signing was Ollie Banks, and on the bench, albeit unused, was Ray Ford. The two newbies have been added to the playing stats, as have three lads from the Reserves who have signed first team forms – Dan Baldry, Niall Gibb and Eric Hall. The three could possibly feature in upcoming first team cup matches.

Ollie Banks is pictured below on his debut at Winterton. He has played league football with Rotherham and scored for them in his one appearance against Torquay United. More pictures from the Winterton game can be found HERE

Leaving the club recently has been Joel Ramm, Daz Winter and Gaz Clayton. They have gone to Pickering Town, Worksop Parramore and Sheffield FC respectively and SeadogStuff and Number 10 Sport Photography wish them all well.

You can see how many times they featured, scored and were booked for Boro during their time at the club in the All-Time Playing Statistics section, which too has been updated.

The next update at this time is the Reserves and Youth section of the site. As well as adding to the Reserves most recent games and appearances records, I have also now completed the Youth section with up to date results and scorers from all SAFC junior matches this season so far.

I compile articles for the Scarborough News newspaper each week with this information, and thanks go to managers and coaches who provide me the information for each team – Eric Richardson (u19s and u18s), Nigel Carson (u16s and u12s), Tony Kirk (u14s), Phil Wallace (u13s) and Guilio Armeilli (u13s). These lists will be updated as often as possible, if not every week.

Thirdly I updated the referee’s League of Respect. I added in the most recent referee stats, but also updated the list with two new names – Andy Foster and Barry Sygmuta. The two had refereed Boro’s North Riding Senior Cup matches against Fishburn Park and Thornaby, and until now were unknown. Programmes, match reports and other records failed to find their names, so I eventually contacted the NRCFA, and a lovely lady named Caroline gave me the names. Thanks to her! I making that update I have also updated the 07-08 match-by-match stats to include their names.

Other unknowns within the stats documents were the dates of birth of two former Boro goalkeepers who played in 10-11 – Tom Nicholson and Jack Dennison. Again, official records I kept had no reference to the dates, and following no reply from the club to a few emails, I did a bit of digging myself and found out where they are currently playing.

Tom is now at Reckitts in the Humber Premier League alongside former Boro captain Graham Botham and former trialist Dave Botham, while Jack plies his trade at Hackenthorpe Villa in the Sheffield Meadowhall Sunday League. A couple of emails between the club secretaries later and I had their dates of birth! Thanks to those clubs for their help, which has allowed me to update the 10-11 playing statistics and the all-time playing statistics.

So there we have it! A complete update, all stats on the site are now totally up to date, no information is wrong or missing, and this site continues to bring you the ONLY complete, accurate and simply presented statistical record of Scarborough Athletic FC since formation!

If you would like to contribute to this site, in any way shape or form contact me at seadogstuff@gmail.com

If you have a favourite player, match or goal from the Seadogs last five and a bit seasons, tell us about it, and I can knock your story into shape, add images and spread your takes of joy (or sorrow!).

I’ll be back with another update after the weekend’s matches.

JH, November 7 2012

Leave a comment